The Andriasov Store

That Makes You

Samuel Marques, Clarinetist

began his studies in Portugal, before moving to the US to study with Stanley Drucker and Pascual Martínez-Forteza at NYU. There he obtained a Master’s degree, an Advanced Certificate, and was also an Adjunct Instructor. Samuel has been selected to the National Repertory Orchestra, the Castleton Festival Orchestra and the Atlantic Music Festival, to name a few. He is also Bass Clarinetist in the International Mahler Orchestra (Germany). Recently, Samuel had the opportunity to play with mezzo-soprano Joyce DiDonato and was the winner of the II Iberoamerican Young Artists Competition. Mr. Marques is dedicated to make classical music accessible to a broader range of audiences. Equally comfortable on stage as a solo, orchestral, or chamber musician, Mr. Marques is also passionate about sharing his knowledge by educating future musicians.

"It was for me a true pleasure to play at the 5th New York..."

“It was for me a true pleasure to play at the 5th New York Andriasov Festival. Arshak is a one-of-a-kind, truly great person, and I congratulate him on his endeavors and for putting together this festival as a way of sharing his and his father’s music, and for promoting classical music in general.

I felt very fortunate and honored to play Iosif Andriasov’s Clarinet Concertino with the amazing Victor Romasevich on the piano. The Concertino, despite being a short work (only about 7 minutes long), is able to demonstrate all the good things the clarinet can do. It starts with a first movement of a very tender and melancholic character, showcasing the clarinet’s beautiful tone and expressiveness through the use of beautiful melodies. In the second movement, Andriasov makes the clarinet shine in a different way, as the clarinet displays all its virtuosic technique and there is also a humorous interplay between the clarinet and piano.

I strongly believe this piece should be part of the standard clarinet repertoire, because it really is a great piece, and I am thankful to Arshak for giving me the opportunity to learn it and perform”

To read about and listen to the composition visit:

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.