The Andriasov Store

That Makes You

Anatole Wieck, Violinist & Violist

teaches violin and viola and conducts the University of Maine Chamber Orchestra. Born in Latvia, Prof. Wieck received his early musical training in Riga and Moscow. In 1973 he came to the United States to study at the Juilliard School of Music in New York City where he earned his Bachelor, Master and Doctor degrees. His principal teachers in Russia were Yuri Yankelevich and Zinaida Gilels. At Juilliard he studied with Ivan Galamian, Joseph Fuchs, Lillian Fuchs and Paul Doktor, and chamber music with members of the Juilliard String Quartet. After graduating from Juilliard he continued to study with composer-philosopher Iosif Andriasov. An accomplished violinist, violist and conductor, Professor Wieck performed and taught throughout North America, South America and Europe.

"I want to express my gratitude to Arshak Andriasov for..."

About The 5th New York Andriasov Music Festival

“I want to express my gratitude to Arshak Andriasov for creating The 5th New York Andriasov Festival on April 18, 2015 and congratulate all the performers. To be part of this festival was to me the highlight of the year.

At this event, Arshak appeared in many roles. Not only did he take care of every detail from assembling a team of musicians, putting together the program, taking care of logistics, writing beautiful music but also performing in every piece except one.

Many of the musicians that Arshak had invited I had never met before. Very soon I realized that besides being excellent musicians they were also fine individuals. It was gratifying to mingle with them and be part of this enthusiastic team. I could feel their excitement and commitment to the music they were going to play. The performances were soulful and exquisite and the compositions presented a wonderful variety written by Arshak and his father Iosif Andriasov. The works performed included two sets of Romances and a Ballet that Arshak played solo as well as instrumental solo pieces by Iosif Andriasov for Clarinet, Flute, French Horn all with piano accompaniment.

I was particularly excited to play the Passacaglia by Iosif Andriasov with Victor Romasevich and Arshak. Passacaglia is only four minutes long, yet it is filled with intensity and passion that goes all the way from lyrical to heroic offering a tremendous range of emotions. Iosif Andriasov is a highly expressive and concise composer who does not waste a note.

The next piece we played together was the Ave Maria, a total contrast to Passacaglia, a tender, joyous and affectionate music with a luminous quality.

The whole concert culminated with Arshak’s performance of Iosif Andriasov’s First Symphony, an ingenious composition, which Arshak arranged and played on the piano. It is always a huge challenge to perform an orchestral work on the keyboard. Arshak rose to the occasion. He conveyed the monumental quality of this composition as well as the colors and the sound of the orchestra. This was a brilliant and profound finish for this festival. I look forward to more events that will feature the music of both Andriasovs!”

To read about and listen to the composition visit:

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.